The Louis-Jeantet Professors

Since 1987, the Faculty of Medicine has appointed nine Louis-Jeantet Professors, international leading experts in their fields.

An agreement between the University of Geneva and the Foundation governs the creation and funding of these positions. Louis-Jeantet Professors receive funding covering their academic salary, as well as the necessary infrastructure and staffing requirements.

The Louis-Jeantet Professors appointed since 1987 to date are:

  1. Antoine Flahault, global health (2014,ongoing),
  2. Andreas Kleinschmidt, clinical neurosciences (2012-2016),
  3. Emmanouil Dermitzakis, genetics of complex traits (2009-2014),
  4. Ariel Ruiz i Altaba, stem cells (2004-2008),
  5. Lars French, clinical neurosciences and dermatology (2003-2006), Prof. French is now pursuing his career at the University of Zurich,
  6. Karl-Heinz Krause, biology of ageing (2001-2005),
  7. Bernardino Fantini, medical history (1992-1995), now an honorary professor,
  8. Bernard Mach, molecular genetics (1991-1998), now an honorary professor,
  9. Philippe A. Halban, diabetics (1987-2001).